Victor Moses, Troost-Ekong and Junior Ajayi Nominated For CAF Awards

Chelsea star Victor Moses is among two Nigeria stars in the running to be named African Player of the Year 2017, the other being Bursapor defender William Troost-Ekong.

The Confederation of African Football has published on its official website the thirty most outstanding players in Africa in the last one year, and also the players nominated for African Player of the Year – Based in Africa 2017.

Last season, Moses was instrumental as Chelsea won the Premier League title, playing 34 games and contributing to six goals over the course of the season and also featured in the final of the FA Cup.

For the national team, he was the Super Eagles best player in the third round of the World Cup qualifying series, scoring three goals and providing an assist.

William Troost-Ekong also had a brilliant 2017, and completed each of the five games he started for the Super Eagles during the World Cup qualifiers.

Also in the list Harambee Stars striker Michael Olunga is among the best performing African footballers in 2017.
The Girona forward made the 30-man shortlist for the Caf African Player of the Year award. The lanky Olunga is the only Kenyan who made the shortlist, joining the decorated company of star names such as Sadio Mane (Senegal and Liverpool), Mohammed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool), Denis Onyango (Uganda and Mamelodi Sundowns), Eric Bailly (Cote d’Ivoire and Manchester United) and Pierre-Emerick Aubamayang (Borussia Dortmund and Gabon).

Nigeria U23 international Junior Ajayi has been nominated for the African Player of the Year – Based in Africa 2017 after helping Al Ahly qualify for the final of the CAF Champions League.

The winner will be decided by votes from the Head Coaches/Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to CAF, members of the CAF Technical and Development Committee and a panel of Media Experts.

The Awards Gala will be held on Thursday, 4 January 2018 in Accra, Ghana.

African Player of the Year Nominees

  1. Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)

  2. Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso & Lyon)

  3. Cedric Bakambu (DR Congo & Villareal)

  4. Christian Atsu (Ghana & Newcastle)

  5. Christian Bassogog (Cameroon & Henan Jianye)

  6. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

  7. Eric Bailly (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United)

  8. Essam El Hadary (Egypt & Al Taawoun)

  9. Fabrice Ondoa (Cameroon & Sevilla)

  10. Fackson Kapumbu (Zambia & Zesco)

  11. Jean Michel Seri (Cote d’Ivoire & Nice)

  12. Junior Kabananga (DR Congo & Astana)

  13. Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco & Feyenoord)

  14. Keita Balde (Senegal & Monaco)

  15. Khalid Boutaib (Morocco & Yeni Malatyaspor)

  16. Mbwana Samata (Tanzania & Genk)

  17. Michael Olunga (Kenya & Girona)

  18. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

  19. Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto)

  20. Naby Keita (Guinea & RB Leipzig)

  21. Percy Tau (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

  22. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund)

  23. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

  24. Thomas Partey (Ghana & Atletico Madrid)

  25. Victor Moses (Nigeria & Chelsea)

  26. Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon & Porto)

  27. William Troost-Ekong (Nigeria & Bursaspor)

  28. Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)

  29. Youssef Msakni (Tunisia & Al Duhail)

  30. Yves Bissouma (Mali & Lille)

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa

  1. Achraf Bencharki (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

  2. Ahmed Fathi (Egypt & Al Ahly)

  3. Alkhaly Bangoura (Guinea & Etoile du Sahel)

  4. Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)

  5. Aristide Bance (Burkina Faso & Al Masry)

  6. Ayman Majid (Morocco & FUS Rabat)

  7. Aymen Mathlouthi (Tunisia & Etoile du Sahel)

  8. Ben Malango (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)

  9. Dean Furman (South Africa & Supersport United)

  10. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

  11. Elsamani Saadeldin (Sudan & Al Merreikh)

  12. Fackson Kapumbu (Zambia & Zesco)

  13. Fawzi Chaouchi (Algeria & MC Alger)

  14. Geoffrey Serunkuma (Uganda & KCCA)

  15. Jeremy Brockie (New Zealand & Supersport)

  16. Junior Ajayi (Nigeria & Al Ahly)

  17. Karim Aouadhi (Tunisia & CS Sfaxien)

  18. Mohamed Meftah (Algeria & USM Alger)

  19. Mohamed Ounnajem (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

  20. Muaid Ellafi (Libya & Ahly Tripoli)

  21. Nasr Eldin Ahmed (Sudan & Hilal Obeid)

  22. Oussama Darfalou (Algeria & USM Alger)

  23. Percy Tau (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns)

  24. Sabelo Ndzinisa (Swaziland & Mbabane Swallows)

  25. Saber Khalifa (Tunisia & Club Africain)

  26. Saladin Said (Ethiopia & Saint George)

  27. Sylvain Gbohouo (Cote d’Ivoire & TP Mazembe)

  28. Tady Etekiama (DR Congo & AS Vita)

  29. Taha Yassine Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)

  30. Tarek Hamed (Egypt & Zamalek)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.